CHRISTIAN, STUDYING A VET FITNESS COURSE IN MELBOURNE!

Hello, my name is Christian, I am 26 years old and I am from Manresa (Barcelona), in Spain I studied bakery and pastry, and later I decided to shoot for the airport industry, but I did not finish it … I needed to learn English first, once I have the level I will return to my studies.

How long have you lived in Australia?

It’s been 19 months since I landed in Australia, and I am still here. I’ve been thinking about going back one day a lot recently…but it’s a difficult decision to make.

Why Australia?

The truth is that I decided on Australia because I wanted to start a different adventure, it is also true that I have family here, which also motivated me to come.

My main objective was to learn basic English with which to communicate, but once I saw that I was learning and that I was enjoying learning the language, my objective changed, and it is now to try to achieve the highest level possible, the future may be very interesting.

Regarding the main objective with which I came, I cannot say that I have met it because I am still developing. I know 100% that I will make it, I love it and I am enjoying it.

Which Australian cities have you lived in?

I’ve been in Melbourne for 19 months and I’m really bored of this city, it feels like I don’t even notice I’m in Australia, it seems like Barcelona (hahaha). In just over 1 month, I will start a new adventure, a new opportunity, and I will go to Brisbane.

Which neighbourhoods have you lived in?

Here in Melbourne I have lived in the suburbs for the most part, but I also lived in the CBD (Central Business District), which I liked as it had everything on its doorstep. But I have lived in South Melbourne now for 3 months and am delighted with the area, 2 minutes away I have Albert Park, an ideal place to walk, I am also close to the South Melbourne Market, but I do prefer the Queen Victoria Market!

What have you studied?

I started studying English but I was not satisfied and I noticed that I wasted a lot of money, I changed schools to continue at SMEAG ENGLISH for which I will be eternally grateful for, for their treatment and professionalism with students.

I am currently studying the Certificate III Fitness at ALG.

How has your English evolved?

The evolution has been very satisfactory, more than I could have hoped for. I never thought that today I would have the level that I have, I know it is not very high, but for me, for someone who came with nothing, it is a lot!

At SMEAG I noticed that I improved quickly, but I must note that I work with Australians so you do learn faster, it is important to surround yourself with people who speak English.

Why did you choose to do this course?

I opted for Fitness because sport is my passion, and I would say that there is not a day that goes by where sport is not in my head.
My past has always been related to high performance sports, so my goal is to continue with the knowledge that I already have. And actually, I’m realizing how many mistakes I made when training.

The classes are very dynamic and I like them, we have 2 days of classes (Wednesday and Thursday), Wednesdays are dedicated to theory and Thursdays are practical classes.

What have you worked as and how did you get it?

Well, the truth is that here you take whatever work you can find, in my case I have had several jobs: a worker, painter, housekeeper, and finally a construction cleaner. My current job is as the COVID Cleaner of a construction.

How much money can you spend a week in your city?

The truth is that I have not calculated it but in all honesty I do not spend much. Maybe the average is around $250 including rent. In my expenses the most expensive thing is the rent, and the cheapest is perhaps bottles of water.

What’s the funniest situation you’ve found yourself in in Australia?

I do not know if it will be the funniest, but once I got on the wrong train, and I ended up so far away … Thanks to that I learned to always look at everything (haha).

From 1 (minimum) to 10 (maximum) score:

  • Your English upon arrival: 0
  • Your English now: 7
  • Your studies: English 8
  • People in your city: 7
  • Lifestyle: 8
  • Your happiness level: 7.5
  • Your stress level: 10
  • Your experience: 7.5

Your most honest opinion about AUssieYouTOO:

My experience with AUssieYouTOO has been positive, from the beginning they have been quick and efficient in managing everything.
Sometimes I have needed to solve something with the school and they have been very agile.

How were the processes and procedures with your Listener?

Well maybe I was lucky as I have had 3 listeners. Leti was the first before embarking on the adventure and everything went quickly and was great. When I renewed I had Ana which wasn’t bad and I currently have Magda, I really appreciate all her patience and speed with the procedures!

Did you have a COOLaborator when you arrived?

Yes, I was lucky to have Alba. She was a great help, since she made everything easier and helped me to open a bank account and get an Australian number, the TFN (Tax File Number). She also helped me to orient myself and gave me some advice to get started in my new destination.

What advice do you have for people who have just landed in Australia?

It may be difficult at first, or it may not be, but either way it is important not to get overwhelmed. If you have come this far, live the experience. The good will leave you with incredible memories and you can always learn from the bad.

Write whatever you want:

Whether you come to study or work, you will have just made one of the best decisions of your life and you will never regret it. Putting myself to the test and learning from every mistake is helping me grow as a person and I am getting to know myself better, which I could not have done without going outside of my comfort zone.

I recommend that anyone embarks on an adventure since creating your life from scratch in a place that you do not know is something really beautiful and enriching.

What did you think of Christian’s interview? Rate it with 5 stars!

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments